Posted on

Keeping An Open Mind

I, for the most part, keep an open mind when it comes to watching and experiencing new things. This has allowed me to watch great movies and become addicted to fabulous TV shows. If the show or movie is highly recommended by a lot of people and I don’t watch it, I feel like I am missing out on something. Through this I have started watching Breaking Bad, Community, Parks and Recreation, The Walking Dead, It’s Always Sunny In Philadelphia, and a few more. And I guarantee that I will probably try more shows due to recommendations from others.

Last night I showed some friends my second favorite movie, American Beauty. I love the movie because I find it relatable, and I think Lester is a great character who should be looked upon as an idol.

Within the first 4 minutes one of them was telling me how stupid this movie was. I found this to be unbelievable. How can someone have such a closed mind that they aren’t even willing to try an oscar winning movie that sends a fabulous message? I didn’t get it. She tried it for 4 minutes. That isn’t even trying.

She kept asking me why the plastic bag was beautiful, she criticized the characters and wouldn’t accept them for who they are, and told me at least 10 times while watching it, that this movie was stupid. I believe had she kept an open mind she would have liked the movie.

Right after that I had to watch Britney Spears concert video with her. I was really upset because she didn’t get my movie and if you have ever seen American Beauty, you know that you can’t explain why it is great or what its message is. It is something that you either get or you don’t. And if you get it, it is spectacular. I tried to keep my mind open on Mrs. Spears and I found it to be a lot better than what I expected it to be. I told her that it wasn’t that bad and parts of it were enjoyable. Because I watch this, she was supposed to watch the first episode of Breaking Bad. But the more I thought about it the more I didn’t want her to ruin it for me. I love Breaking Bad. I think it is a fantastic show, and I would love to show it to more people. But she wants to watch what she likes and anything that is different sucks.

I realized that Breaking Bad is my treasure and I am not going to let her ruin it for me like she nearly ruined American Beauty for me. It is a show ment for the patient and open-minded. I would love to expose her to more things but if it doesn’t have a Disney star or Taylor Swift attached to it, she doesn’t want to see it. She is almost 19.

I broke down in fury and told her that I wasn’t going to make her watch it and she looked puzzled and asked why? I told her the truth and she got mad at me. Finally I just burst. I like grown up things. Things that are R rated or Emmy nominated. I like things that are critically acclaimed and meant to satisfy older people. I have no desire to watch anymore teenagers jumping up and down because they see Hannah Montana or Demi Lovato. I watched all of Pretty Little Liars so she could watch one 2 hour movie. If I had kept my mind closed and had been really stubborn, watching about 30 hours of a teenager show would have been hell. And the fact that she couldn’t do the same for me said something about our relationship.

Unfortunately for her, I would prefer to keep these gems of television shows and movies to myself. I want to love them and cherish them and if she ever comes to me one day, asking to watch one of them I will of course say yes. But forcing someone to watch something will always end in them hating it.

I’m not going to torture myself anymore. If they want to return to middle school and watch these things that I have tried to watch, they can. I will head to my room and watch something that interests me. If our relationship falls apart, well then that just means it wasn’t strong enough in the first place.

Through this I am part of a select few who appreciate Breaking Bad to no end, know the inside jokes of Parks and Rec, and am part of the cult hit that is Community. And I love being apart of these “institutions”.

Take this as a lesson. Watch new shows, experience new movies. You never know what kind of underground world you will uncover and you can say that you are a part of it.

About durden99

I live a pretty boring life but over the years this boring life has allowed me to develop a love and appreciation for the the television and movie industries. I realized that I loved movies when I would sit down and watch the credits when the rest of my friends and family would leave. I have a deep respect for anyone in the TV or film making industries. My all time favorite movie is Fight Club because of the lessons it teaches and for its overall impact on my life.

Leave a Reply

