Posted on

Project Runway 9.04

A Terrifying Challenge

The designers learn that in this challenge they will be designing for Nina Garcia. I am pretty sure I would have peed my pants if I were one of them. Nina is a tough judge and isn’t afraid to speak her mind. Not only that, she lists off a whole list of things she doesn’t like. I love this challenge but thank God I don’t have to do and just get to enjoy watching Nina be Nina.

Meet the Diva

So the contestants get to meet with Nina on a consultation. I think this is good considering all the things that Nina doesn’t like so it gives them a chance to get advice from her and change whats he doesn’t like. However Nina is a lot more forceful than Heidi or any other beautiful woman that they have had to design for in the past. She tells Kimberly she wants pants, doesn’t want the jacket Cecilia was thinking of, and says no a lot. Ironically, everything Nina says she doesn’t wear like color and pattern was what she was wearing at the consults. She looked great in it, but it was kind of bizarre.

Dual fabric

While at the store Anthony Ryan and Becky pick out the same fabric. I don’t know who got it first, from the way they showed it, it looked like AR picked it up before Becky but who knows or really cares. I have to agree that it is amazing that two designers would choose the same thing from thousands of choices. The good news, I love the fabric.

Welcome to the workroom

Nina comes to the workroom and she has a poker face for everything. She tells Danielle no at least 3 times and asks a couple people if they have a plan B. The answer is no. Everyone seems on edge and Tim looks a bit worried.

Anybody Home?

For the first time ever, Tim walks into the workroom on the day of the show and no one is there. It was really funny and then Tim walks into the sewing room where they are all frantically working. Tim looks worried, gives his little speech, and walks away.

Top 3

Anya: The color she ended up with was great. I am not a big jump suit fan, but it appeared to made well, even if Laura helped a little. I just can’t imagine that suit in the mustard yellow. If that happened I think she may have gone.

Kimberly: I like the pants and the more I see the top the more I like it. I just can’t imagine Nina in it. I think it would photograph well for a magazine and it is original and modern. I was just stunned when Nina like it.

Viktor: I loved this dress. It was totally a work outfit that could be worn straight to an evening event. The shoulders were something different. And it was really pretty. I agree that the separates made it better than it just being a dress.

Winner: Kimberly. Between the 3 I really didn’t care. I thought Viktor’s was the best but it wouldn’t photograph as well as Kim’s. She did a great job because that gold, sparkly fabric is hard to pull off.

Bottom 3:

Cecilia: Boring. I don’t see anyone wearing this and Cecilia’s personality sucks. I don’t know how she thought that that gray was purple but the yellow she picked wouldn’t have gone with purple either. It was sad and dull.

Danielle: Like Michael said, it is very pedestrian. I can’t imagine Nina in that green. There was nothing special about it, and it had no point of view. It wasn’t the worst but it should have been much better.

Julie: oh Julie. I don’t really know if it was a dress or a coat. The collar was non existent and it was glued together. I like the flicks of orange but dear Lord it was bad. The model also had no shape in it. It was much too big.

Loser: Julie. This was her last chance. I like Julie and Cecilia’s crappy attitude annoyed me but hers was worse. I could possible see someone in Cecilia’s dress but I would be afraid to meet the person who wore Julie’s outfit. The only thing that bothered me was Cecilia not seeing the point in telling the judges she thought it should be her instead of Julie. If you don’t want to be here, go home.

The Middle

Anthony Ryan: first time not in the top, but he still did a good job. I cant really see it as an evening outfit but it would look great for work. Still love the fabric.

Becky: I loved her dress. It would work for day and night. The model looked great and I could totally see Nina in it. I think she did it better than AR, but both did a great job.

Bert: A boring little black dress. I wish Bert could do something like his first design because I haven’t seen anything from him since that makes me want to root for him. The dress was simple and dull. It was wearable, but not anything special

Bryce: oh Bryce, you are so lucky. It didn’t fit, it was too short, and just looked bad. It is very bizarre and poorly made. I can’t believe he wasn’t in the bottom 3. Then again the ones at the bottom were just as bad.

Joshua: I liked his cutout dress, but it was very young-looking. Anyone of the age of 25 couldn’t pull of this dress. It was cute and intriguing but Nina could never wear it. Especially with that bright orange back. I like the front a lot better.

Laura: I think she is lucky to have immunity. It was ugly and the green is definitely a bit Christmasy. The little drop sleeve things are ugly. and the sheer bottom of the skirt is awful. I do not like it. And it needs to be thrown out because no amount of work will make it better. One more thing, it is too shiny.

Olivier: Ew. Not tight enough and the colors are super bland. Nina said she didn’t like color that much but the winner was a sparkly gold top. The pants make her hips look huge and the placement of beige/gray part of the top is placed weirdly. I like the model’s hair and that is about it.

Side Notes:

Anthony Ryan and Anya appear to be best buddies which is nice because I love them both.

Cecilia better change her attitude or the producers may throw her off the show.

I think this is one of the best challenges Project Runway has ever had. I can’t believe it took this long. Maybe next time they will have to make an outfit for Michael. Or as I remember last time, Tim was praying that they never do another menswear challenge again.

Thank God we appear to not have a Gretchen or Kenley this season. The drama is always fun to watch but these people always make it too far. As I remember Gretchen should have been gone instead of AJ and Kenley should have never it made it to the final 3. Remember that ugly purple, fish/dragon/snake thing?

The Judges were awesome Nina’s boss is even more harsh than Nina and I can’t believe someone on the bottom didn’t start crying. Kerry Washington was unmemorable but I think she was overshadowed by Joanna Coles. As long as they have judges that don’t overshadow Michael, Nina, or Heidi.

About durden99

I live a pretty boring life but over the years this boring life has allowed me to develop a love and appreciation for the the television and movie industries. I realized that I loved movies when I would sit down and watch the credits when the rest of my friends and family would leave. I have a deep respect for anyone in the TV or film making industries. My all time favorite movie is Fight Club because of the lessons it teaches and for its overall impact on my life.

Leave a Reply

