Posted on

Hate for Ted, and Love for Barney?

I am a fan of How I Met Your Mother but I have yet to understand why the critics hate Ted so much and love Barney. Both characters are great and the main criticism for Ted is that he is an idiot. Well let me tell you something, my swim coach (who is a male) says all guys are idiots. Hell at some point we all do something idiotic and stupid. Also if I remember right, on Ted’s first date with Robin he told her that he loved her. If that wasn’t a good enough preview into Ted’s character I don’t know what is. Personally I find Ted’s stupidity to be slightly endearing and kind of funny. He is one of the good guys on TV. He wants the right woman and treats them well. He is always there for his friends and tries hard at his job. (when we see him actually working). Any character on TV that is good at heart is easy for me to like.

Barney on the other hand is mostly loved by critics but he can get annoying. The best part about Barney is that he is growing as a person. He started off as a player and still is, but he is now much more open to the idea of commitment. (I am pretty sure he is the one getting married). I don’t think the critics should reverse the love and hate but at least spread the love to Ted too. The one thing Barney has over Ted in my mind, is that he always wears a suit. I love a man in a suit!

Both do extremely stupid things, and both crack me up during every episode. This show doesn’t work without either of them or without the other 3. It is a happy show about friends who are there for each other and are just looking for happiness. If you can’t relate to that, then you obviously haven’t been living on the planet earth.

Unless I am totally wrong, but I think not, every character and relationship on How I Met Your Mother is great and hilarious!

About durden99

I live a pretty boring life but over the years this boring life has allowed me to develop a love and appreciation for the the television and movie industries. I realized that I loved movies when I would sit down and watch the credits when the rest of my friends and family would leave. I have a deep respect for anyone in the TV or film making industries. My all time favorite movie is Fight Club because of the lessons it teaches and for its overall impact on my life.

Leave a Reply

