Posted on

The Televison Theme Song

Or lack there of.

What happened to it? Hardly any new TV shows have one, or at least a real one. I am not looking for the songs that give a recap of the story like in The Jeffersons, Brady Bunch, or Fresh Prince of Bel-Air. Those are dated and I can’t see crime shows are comedies these days with songs like that.

Of the shows I watch or have seen the ones that have an actual song are:

CSI: Crime Scene Investigation: “Who Are You?” by The Who I love it, the new credit sequence (season 6+) is total vision overload and awesome.

CSI:NY: “Baba O’Riley” by The Who. Best of the CSIs song wise and the simpleness fits there clean looking lab.

CSI:Miami: “Won’t Get Fooled Again” by The Who. Worst of the CSIs but the song is more relaxed which works for the light atmosphere of Miami compared to New York and Vegas.

(yes the producers were genius when coming up with that trio)

The Big Bang Theory: “The History of Everything” by The Bare Naked Ladies. Sums up what the actual theory is.

Psych: “I Know You Know” by The Friendly Indians. One word, Awesome!

Suits: “Greenback Boogie” by Ima Robot. I hate it, just awful. Props for having one but my God it is terrible.

Covert Affairs: “Can You Save Me” by Power. Catchy after a little while but not the best. But like I said before, at least they have one.

Of these Psych wins. It is funny, has a nice opening sequence and it is actually a treat when they play the song longer on some of the episodes.

Then there are the shows that I have a song but there are no words.

NCIS: suits the show and has a great opening clips.

NCIS: Los Angeles: I love this theme song, the song is actually better than the show. Hint, the show needs some work.

Survivor: It changes slightly every season and fits the show perfectly.

Top Chef: this one is okay, it doesn’t make me want to watch the show but introduces the contestants nicely.

The Amazing Race: Love the images of around the world and it works.

Criminal Minds: Creepy and tone setting. It is perfect for this show.

In between having one and not having one

Breaking Bad: short and has the chemical formula for Meth. It is genius and slightly off-putting.

How I Met Your Mother: Short and catchy. I find myself humming along for the 10 or so seconds it plays.

Why even bother

Castle: short burst of music that really adds nothing to the show except gives us the name of it.

Mentalist: Same boat as Castle.

Modern Family: Gives us the title. This is sad because I good theme song could really add another level to this show.

Project Runway: Yeah, what opening anymore? Now it just consists of Heidi exclaiming “This is Project Runway” which is fine. I don’t really miss the designers comments in the beginning.

Dear TV Producers,

Please put themes songs on all new shows. I miss them and I know I am not the only one. I have actually been hooked on shows after listening to the opening credits.

 

 

About durden99

I live a pretty boring life but over the years this boring life has allowed me to develop a love and appreciation for the the television and movie industries. I realized that I loved movies when I would sit down and watch the credits when the rest of my friends and family would leave. I have a deep respect for anyone in the TV or film making industries. My all time favorite movie is Fight Club because of the lessons it teaches and for its overall impact on my life.

Leave a Reply

