Posted on

Fight Club

Released: October 15, 1999

Director: David Fincher

Actors: Edward Norton, Brad Pitt, Helena Bonham Carter, Meat Loaf, Jared Leto, Zach Grenier

Screenplay: Jim Uhls

Book by: Chuck Palahniuk

Run Time: 139 minutes

Rating: R

Who Should See It?

Everyone! Well at least anyone who is over the age of 15 or 16 and is okay with watching an R rated movie.

Why You Should See It?

It is amazing. It is my favorite movie and I don’t see that ever changing. Fight Club brings you on a journey with an insomniac who is just trying to sleep but realizes that he wants to be happy. He is a nobody becoming a somebody and we all want to be important in life. This movie taught me to appreciate what I have already and that adding more junk to my room or buying more things won’t make me happier.

Plot Overview

Fight Club starts with a gun barrel in the Narrator’s (Norton) mouth. It back tracks to the beginning where we learn that this man is miserable. He can’t sleep and is stuck in this world where he is sick of his job and shops constantly at IKEA to fill the holes in his life to no end. He starts going to support groups for different types of diseases and becomes addicted because they allow him to finally get some sleep. He meets a man named Bob (Meat Loaf) at a testicular cancer group and they begin a slight friendship. He also meets Marla Singer (Carter). She is a “tourist” or someone else just like him that goes to the meetings for “fun”. Soon after he meets Tyler Durden (Pitt). The man that will change his life forever. Together they form a strong bond and start Fight Club. This club is for males and it allows them to release their frustrations out about the world and be free for a night. As Fight Club develops, Tyler starts Project Mayhem. This is basically a domestic terrorist group that is trying to show the world that material things don’t matter. As the movie progresses the ideas become more complex and then you becomeĀ  even more confused once the great twist is revealed.

Review:

10/10

It is eye-opening. This movie is dark, romantic, funny, violent, mind baffling, and fantastic. The more you watch this movie the more the comedy shines through and the more it makes sense. The acting and directing are superb and the plot couldn’t be any better. This film, while not a box office success it now a cult classic. It has some of the best quotes and the message it sends hits you if you understand it. Unlike other movies, Fight Club sends multiple, possibly more important messages than just the main one. It tells you not to be afraid of dying, hope can torture you, and to be happy with what you have. This film may not change your life but it sure changed mine. I saw this just before my 16th birthday and now whenever the holidays come around and my mother asks “What do I you want” I always say I don’t care. Since then I have gotten some of the most useless and bizarre gifts and it honestly doesn’t bother me because even if I got something I really liked, it wouldn’t make me a better person.

Also if you like this movie I recommend reading Chuck Palahniuk’s other books. They are all really good.

Rotten Tomatoes Rating: 81%

RT Fan Rating: 95%

Other Notes:

Tyler Durden is rated number 1 at Empire Magazine’s list of 100 Greatest Movie Characters.

http://www.empireonline.com/100-greatest-movie-characters/default.asp?c=1

Brad Pitt actually had teeth removed for the role.

This movie has one of the greatest opening credit sequences. It had it’s own budget. Fincher is also well known for his opening credit sequences in Se7en and Panic Room.

Please feel free to comment but if you have seen this movie do not give away the ending and ruin it for someone else. If I could I would use the Men and Black minds swipe device and go back to watch Fight Club for the first time again. It is an experience I will never forget.

About durden99

I live a pretty boring life but over the years this boring life has allowed me to develop a love and appreciation for the the television and movie industries. I realized that I loved movies when I would sit down and watch the credits when the rest of my friends and family would leave. I have a deep respect for anyone in the TV or film making industries. My all time favorite movie is Fight Club because of the lessons it teaches and for its overall impact on my life.

Leave a Reply

